Harry's Last Stand Newsletter
Harry's Last Stand Newsletter
History isn't repeating itself as farce but as fascism.
3
0:00
-8:38

History isn't repeating itself as farce but as fascism.

3
Transcript

No transcript...

Over the last 18 months of his life Harry Leslie Smith recorded a series of audio tapes. On them, he spoke about how the 21st century was beginning to resemble the Great Depression world of his youth.

"I refuse to remain quiet while the world my generation built turns feral in the hands of right-wing populists and capitalists indifferent to the wellbeing of ordinary workers. Too many people died, and too many lives were cut short or mangled by the Great Depression and the Second World for me to not speak out. I will oppose to my the last breath the 1% and their politicians who destroyed liberal society constructed on the foundation of a Welfare State and are now attempting to erect a fascist, authoritarian society."

My dad wanted his memories used as a weapon against those who were privatising healthcare, waging never ending wars, dehumanising refugees and making life a sun up to sundown struggle to exist on wages not suitable to afford the expenses of modern times. He would have been profoundly saddened at how prescient his predictions were for democracy.

*************************************************

It's a big ask, I know, but I need your help. I got sick with a mild infection last month. Even being slightly ill put me financially behind. I know how bad it was recovering from cancer during covid but then I had some savings. If I get another major illness, I will sink like a stone.

So, if you can subscribe to a paid membership, thank you. I appreciate the loyalty of each subscriber. You have allowed me to build a community.

Next month, my early pension begins. It is not much,. I couldn't live off it but it adds to the base that keeps me housed.

Right now, at around 1100 subscribers, with 10% as paid, I need to increase my subscription base to 3k or double my paid subscriber base for an income of $14k (Canadian).

So, if you can please subscribe. It is appreciated by me and it ensures the work of Harry's Last Stand has a working beachhead.

Take care, John

Share

Leave a comment

Refer a friend

3 Comments